Guess who got ‘the call’

 

Harlequin Mills and Boon want to buy my book for their ‘Romance’ Line, and the next one please.

I said Yes.

And today is my birthday.

 

It is exactly six years and one day since I gave up paid employment to study the craft of writing fiction and work my apprenticeship in Romance and Crime – the two genres I love to read.

This will be the tenth complete book I have written.

Yesterday evening, I was thinking over the journey, and, counting the early discarded drafts, fragments of scenes and and story ideas and sequel notes etc [and some of these books are 100k. plus] I should imagine I have typed at least a million words or so in those six years working 6 or 7 days a week.

No doubt when the contract arrives I shall come back to earth with a solid thump, but at the moment I am having fun and telling my friends that I am going to be a published author. I think I deserve it.

La Veuve Cliquot agreed with me. So did the chocolate fresh cream profiteroles.

Mr Ray-Anne has bought me a gold charm bracelet with a single heart gold charm. A new charm is to be added for each new book I sell going forwards. My intention is to have the heaviest right wrist in the land.

How do I feel?  Thrilled does not come close.

So this is a big thank you for all of the many friends in the RNA who have supported and encouraged me on this journey.

Yes, I know that this is only the first step on a long and ricketty ladder, but it is an important one – so thank you all.

 I am smiling and waving at the monitor like a loon. I think it suits me.

