Emotional Structure

I now have a working proposal for my second book for HMB Romance! Hurrah!

So I have:

– the basic Situational Story Plot Idea

– the theme/ intent- whatever you want to call it

– and crucially, I have my Hero and Heroine characters.

So out come the BIG GUNS. And for me that means:

* Building up the character profiles. I adore my heroine, and she has more baggage than Victoria Beckham on a fun shopping spree – but my hero needs a little more backstory – even though my editor thinks he is hunkalicious [ trademark description, Ray-Anne 2008]!

* Huge amount of brainstorming around how to build even more layers into the deeply emotional scenario my poor heroine has to fight her way through – and then, the big one

* The Emotional Story Structure.  How to frame the emotional journey these two people are going to take into the most effective story possible in a few number of pages. Create a spine and plan the action/response plan etc.

I have a new craft book to help me.

EMOTIONAL STRUCTURE -Creating the Story Beneath the Plot – by Peter Dunne.

This is a dense book, packed with brilliant insights, written in an open format. Go here to read an extract using the new Google Browse system.

Yes, I know, I know, but when it comes to craft books and articles, I am very little will power.

But this. Is a fabulous book.

At the moment I am working my way throught it chapter by chapter, and have already added pages of new ideas and layers to my storyline. I already know that I will have a stronger story with much more emotional power by the end.

One thing is clear to me – I know that this Second Book has got to be even MORE emotional, and even better than my first.

No pressure then, no pressure at all. Gulp.

